World Surf League

You probably remember the video of the surfer Mick Fanning being attacked by a shark that went viral last July. Fanning was taking part of the J-Bay Open, one of the events of the professional surf schedule. Every year beaches of all over the world hold the masculine, feminine and junior main competitions of this sport organized by the World Surf League (WSL). In BoatBureau we want to bring this exciting show that takes advantage of the waves that sailors like you and we try to avoid closer to you.

The 2015 Men’s Championship Tour of the World Surf League has 11 stops while the Women’s have 10, and the events are held in Australia, Brazil, United States, French Polynesia, Fiji, Portugal, France and South Africa. The prizes of each competition are hundreds of thousands of dollars. Scores are awarded according to the commitment and degree of difficulty, the innovation, the combination and the variety of the maneuvers, as well as the speed, power and flow. Of all the waves surfed by each contestant and awarded by the jury, only the best two count for the qualification of each surfer.

This days (between the 14th and the 25th of August) one of the events is the masculine calendar is taking place, the Billabong PRO Tahiti. The competition happens in the Pacific, in the French Polynesia. At the start the men’s championship qualification is led by the Brazilian Adriano De Souza, followed by the Australians Mick Fanning and Julian Wilson. Fanning is back again in the competition after the last month shock in South Africa and goes for it, like the other surfers heading the table.

Only five stops remain for the end of the Championship Tour 2015 and the winner will be announced in December in Hawaii. The women’s competition is led by the American Courney Conlogue, with her compatriot Carissa Moore just a few points after her. The winner will also be announced in Hawaii in early December. Furthermore, there are still remaining some events of the qualification series to decide the competitors of the World Surf League 2016. You can download here the full schedule for 2015 or watch live the Billabong PRO Tahiti.

-header image by SayLuiiiis (edited) (license)


Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑